Time is everything for Jennifer Walshe and Timothy Morton in new opera

3 semaines 2 jours ago

A musical and philosophical reflection on the multiple layers of time premieres in February

A new work commissioned by Borealis from composer Jennifer Walshe and philosopher Timothy Morton will make its debut in Norway next year. The opera TIME TIME TIME has Walshe perform onstage with MC Schmidt, Lee Patterson, Áine O'Dwyer, and Norwegian ensembles Streifenjunko and Vilde & Inga. Not much has been revealed about the piece, although festival director Peter Meanwell describes it as a “non-opera art-museum opera about time,” explaining that it's an attempt to “dig into our obsession about time, dying, technology, the anthropocene etc”.

It was commissioned in collaboration with Sonic Acts in the Netherlands, MaerzMuzik in Germany, London Contemporary Music Festival/Serpentine Galleries in the UK and Ultima Oslo Contemporary Music Festival in Norway. It will premiere in the Netherlands at Sonic Acts on 24 February 2019, followed by a Norwegian premiere on 9 March at Borealis in Bergen, which runs between 6–10 March. Artists on the line-up are yet to be confirmed.

Sunn O))) tour Europe in 2019

3 semaines 5 jours ago

Stephen O’Malley and Greg Anderson will perform with long time collaborator Tos Nieuwenhuizen and selected guests, marking two new albums

Sunn O))) will kick off a tour next year, making for the first one since their 2016 stint. The show will feature their first ever French tour, although it doesn't include Paris. Instead they'll be visiting Lyon, Nancy, Dijon, Rouen, Tours, Nantes, La Rochelle and Bordeaux. They'll also return to Kampnagel in Hamburg, Paradiso in Amsterdam, and will headline Elevate festival in Graz, and Divadlo Archa in Prague.

Although full details are yet to be revealed, the tour marks two recently completed album epics. “Rejoin them in their glorious pursuit of the monumental heaviness,” says the announcement. Support acts include Puce Mary, Golem Mecanique, Lingua Ignota, and Robin Fox presenting Single Origin.

Full dates can be found on Facebook.

Boiler Room continues documentary venture with Palestine Underground

3 semaines 5 jours ago

25 minute documentary follows key members of Palestinian techno and hiphop collectives

Boiler Room has released another documentary on their 4.3 platform, this time on the Palestinian underground music scene. Following a crew of techno and hiphop producers, DJs and rappers, the film was shot in the lead up to a Boiler Room party in Ramallah last June, and sheds light on the constraints placed on Palestinian artists with restricted movement due to Israeli government policies, and a midnight curfew set by the Palestinian authorities.

The documentary follows Jazar Crew, a Palestinian music and arts collective from Haifa in the North of Israel, who have been traveling to the Palestinian city of Ramallah in the West Bank to play parties with Saleb Wahad, Bltnm, Oddz and Sama.

Palestine Underground was directed by film maker and journalist Jess Kelly and produced by Boiler Room’s Anaïs Brémond. You can also watch the Boiler Room Palestine set (programmed by Debora Ipekel) on YouTube.

Glasgow's Counterflows 2019 announced

3 semaines 6 jours ago

Four days of “myriad radical and exploratory music” taking place in April

“We’ve spent the last year investigating and challenging what Counterflows is and should be” says the festival in its announcement for the 2019 edition. “Fighting the creeping isolationist agenda and loom of age-old hierarchies, our desire to work locally and internationally – to hold onto and mutually nurture everyone’s capacity to be deeply human, deeply connected and deeply alive – is stronger than ever.”

Taking place at various venues in Glasgow from 4–7 April 2019, Counterflows will feature live performances, club nights, discussions, film screenings and general hang-outs. So far announced are Dakim, Mohammad Reza Mortazavi, Ailie Ormston & Tim Fraser, MC Carol, Katz Mulk, Myriam Van Imschoot & Doreen Kutzke, and Nicole Mitchell, Tomeka Reid & Alexander Hawkins. More acts are still to be announced. Early bird tickets are on sale now.

Rewire shares first acts to appear at 2019 edition

3 semaines 6 jours ago

Line-up includes Low, Jlin & Company Wayne McGregor, Tim Hecker and Yves Tumor

The Hague's Rewire festival has made its first announcement. Happening between 29–31 March, this ninth edition of the festival for adventurous music will feature new projects and collaborations, and explore emerging technologies such as AI. As usual, it will feature concerts, interdisciplinary performances, talks, workshops and screenings.

Artist announced are Andrea Belfi & Valerio Tricoli, Astrid Sonne, Bamba Pana & Makaveli, CURL, Diamanda Dramm, Eli Keszler, Flohio, Gazelle Twin, Giant Swan, Haron, Henry Vega & Jan-Willem Troost, Ipek Gorgun, Jessica Sligter, Jlin & Company Wayne McGregor present Autobiography Edits, John Bence, Kampire, Kelly Moran, Kit Downes & Ensemble Klang, Lafawndah, Lotic: Endless Power, Low, Mohammad Reza Mortazavi, Nicolás Jaar, Otim Alpha, Sinjin Hawke & Zora Jones, Tashi Wada Group, Tim Hecker, William Basinski & Lawrence English, YEK: Mohammad Reza Mortazavi & Burnt Friedman, and Yves Tumor

Festival passes are on sale with €20 discount until 16 November.

Rustin Man debuts on Domino

3 semaines 6 jours ago

Drift Code is released on 1 February 2019

Former Talk Talk bassist Paul Webb has announced his return under the solo alias Rustin Man. He's previously worked under the name once before, for the 2002 album Out Of Season which featured Portishead's Beth Gibbons on vocals, but now, 17 years later, he will make his Rustin Man debut for Domino and release Drift Code.

“Through the necessity of recording over a long period of time, the album has a kind of unfixed or uprooted quality. As if the songs belong nowhere so hopefully belong everywhere” says Webb.

Recorded at his home in a converted barn in Essex, three miles from the nearest village, the release features Webb on vocals. We're told that demos were written on a dictaphone and drums were played by Webb's former Talk Talk bandmate Lee Harris. Each instrument for each arrangement was recorded in a linear fashion. So once all the guitars for each song had been recorded, he would return to track one to record the bass for each track, then the keyboards, and so on.

Watch the video for “Vanishing Heart” below.

Pre-orders are being taken now.

2 heures 18 minutes ago
The online face of the world’s greatest independent music magazine established in 1982. News, features, audio, video, shop and subscribe.
S'abonner à Flux the wire