the wire

Kevin Richard Martin and Hatis Noit share exclusive track ahead of Le Guess Who?

3 semaines 3 jours ago

The recording is available to download for free from 1 November

This month's cover star Kevin Martin has been collaborating with Japanese voice artist Hatis Noit. The pair first met during an improv session for BBC Radio 3's Late Junction, and now they're going to perform together for the first time at this year's Le Guess Who? festival. To mark the occasion they've offered Wire readers an exclusive listen to “After The Storm”, a track that started life at the BBC session before being completed at Martin’s studio in Berlin.

“[Hatis Noit’s] impressionistic approach, tonal brilliance and kaleidoscopic spectrum, evoked voices I had loved in the past,” says Martin. “Whether it echoed the mood of Le Mystère Des Voix Bulgares or the beauty of Liz Fraser, it even navigated the eerie spaciousness of Japanese Gagaku traditions that I enjoy so much, so I just knew I was happy to collaborate with her, as she had outgrown her influences and blossomed into an extraordinary talent.

“In these times of climatic turbulence and socio-political upheaval, its deep seismic sonic flow and haunting melodies are a hymn to the stranded, offering comfort to those in need of solace.”

Hatis Noit adds. “As a solo vocalist and voice artist, I’d always dreamed of floating and being drowned in a beautiful sonic storm. And then I met Kevin Martin.”

To receive a free download of the track sign up to Le Guess Who?'s newsletter before 1 November when they will email recipients a link to it.

Le Guess Who? runs from 7–10 November. In December Hatis Noit will perform with London Contemporary Orchestra at London Southbank Centre, the final show in the year-long series Erased Tapes x LCO.

In the November issue of The Wire Kevin Martin and Stephen O’Malley met in Paris to dissect heavyweight sounds for an article mediated by Mike Barnes. Also in that issue: Francis Gooding decodes the conceptually minded Ideologic Organ label; Abi Bliss talks to choreographer Gisèle Vienne; Phil Freeman speaks to Martin’s close associate Justin Broadrick; and Joe Muggs discusses The Bug’s MC collaborators. Subscribers can read that issue on Exact Editions. Everyone else can either buy a copy in our shop or visit their local newsagent.

Unsound returns to New York

3 semaines 4 jours ago

On 22 and 23 November the Krakow-based festival hosts gigs in NYC

Unsound returns to New York next month. The main event is an all-day takeover of the Knockdown Center. Artists on that bill are Amnesia Scanner, Caterina Barbieri, Felicita & Śląsk Song with the Dance Ensemble, Further Reductions, January Hunt & Octonomy, Abby Echiveri & Leisure Muffin, Nivhek, Pedestrian Deposit, Rrao & Clay Wilson, Shredded Nerve & Jackson Pratt, The Bug & Miss Red, Tim Hecker & Konoyo Ensemble, and Via App & Bookworms present Asthyna. The day before they'll be at St Peter's Church, Chelsea, for a free concert from Polish artists Księżyc who will be performing in the US for the first time.

Advance tickets are on sale now starting at $25.

Yuri Suzuki and Holly Herndon on panel for Shure24 audio producer prize

3 semaines 4 jours ago

The 24 nominees include The Wire contributor Chal Ravens, Kyoka and Shy One

Mixcloud and Shure have announced a list of 24 producers, podcasters, radio hosts, engineers or field recordists, who, in their words, make up a “definitive list of creators pushing audio culture forward”. The artists were chosen by a panel featuring Holly Herndon, Yuri Suzuki, James Lavelle and Santigold. In addition, public votes will decide the winners of the Audience Choice Awards. The top four will receive a mentoring session and the opportunity to create a podcast detailing their personal story.

Nominees are: Counterpoint, Shy One, Miyu Hosoi, Hannah Brodrick, Otoboke Beaver, Maggie Andrew, Kyoka, Freshie, Velvet Negroni, Jules Gimbrone, Chal Ravens, Skinny Pelembe, Ailbhe Máiréad, Two Fresh, Channel Tres, Hibotep, C’est Qui, New Models Podcast, Miink, Fran Lobo, Lullatone, Debit, Bergsonist and Choker.

More information on the artists and how to vote can be found on Shure's website.

Jason Weiss compiles New Improvised Music From Buenos Aires

3 semaines 5 jours ago

This selection of largely unheard music from Argentina was inspired by an article featured in The Wire in 2017

Compiled by The Wire contributor Jason Weiss, New Improvised Music From Buenos Aires includes unreleased or hard to find tracks by Ramiro Molina Duo, Agustí Fernández, Pablo Ledesma, Mono Hurtado and Norris Trio, among other artists discussed in Jason’s 2017 Wire feature about the free music scene in Argentina.

“As in European and American cities, the music survives on a DIY homemade spirit to subvert conventions and construct a kind of presence. But the struggle is waged against greater odds," says Jason, explaining that recent years have seen a government crackdown on the city’s smaller cultural spaces through the enforcement of the kinds of regulations previously imposed on larger venues. “Many places couldn’t afford to stay open, while others became more clandestine.”

ESP-Disk’, the label releasing the album, has its own history with the country, having issued Gato Barbieri's first international LP, In Search Of The Mystery, and Steve Lacy’s The Forest And The Zoo (both 1967), which was recorded at the Instituto Di Tella, Centro de Experimentation Audio-Visual in Buenos Aires.

New Improvised Music From Buenos Aires is released on 25 October and comes with a 16 page booklet including biographical notes and a Jason Weiss essay adapted from his feature in The Wire 399 (May 2017).

Wadada Leo Smith wins UCLA Medal

3 semaines 5 jours ago

Composer and trumpeter to be honoured in a ceremony on 8 November

Trumpeter Wadada Leo Smith has been awarded the UCLA Medal, which honours individuals whose achievements and contributions to society reflect the ideas of the University of California, Los Angeles. Launched in 1979, the UCLA Medal’s past recipients include musicians and vocalists Herb Alpert, Plácido Domingo, Ella Fitzgerald and Quincy Jones; Civil rights activists James M Lawson Jr, Loretta Jones and Rep John Lewis; Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, Presidents Jimmy Carter and Bill Clinton, and UN secretaries Kofi Annan and Ban Ki-moon.

“Wadada Leo Smith is a category-defying composer whose achievements have profoundly shaped American music,” declared UCLA Chancellor Gene Block. “His work exemplifies a diversity of original thought that has enriched the lives of others.”

The award ceremony and concert will take place on 8 November at UCLA’s Herb Alpert School of Music.

20 minutes 23 secondes ago
The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982. News, features, audio, video, shop and subscribe.
S'abonner à Flux the wire